LibGuides: Welcome to Koerwitz Library: For Teachers

Teacher Licensure Links:

*General licensure information: http://www.doe.nv.gov/Educator_Licensure/

*Educator look-up: provides a copy of your most current NV teaching license. You will need the license number, expiration and subject info from here to create your new OPAL license renewal account if you haven't created one already. https://online.nvdoe.org/#/VerifyLicense . Step one

*OPAL - step two Online Application - you must set up this account and submit everything electronically. If you have taken PDE's that you want to apply to your next renewal, you will want to go to the PDE site, request a transcript and it will prompt you to select "send to Dept of Ed also". Your OPAL account must be set up prior to that in order to sync. Go here for the application or to upload PD credit certificates >>>. this is a live link: https://online.nvdoe.org/#/

*General OPAL info: acceptable ID, how to upload it, name changes, removing provisions etc. http://www.doe.nv.gov/Educator_Licensure/Online_Portal/

*License renewal info: costs, fingerprinting, etc http://www.doe.nv.gov/Educator_Licensure/Licensure_Renewals/

*Professional Development options (this is not everything but a start):

1) PDE via CCSD NEW PROCEDURE AS OF APRIL 1, 2019

HERE'S A LIST OF PRE-APPROVED PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROVIDERS. THIS DOES NOT INCLUDE ALL OF THEM, SO YOU MAY FIND OTHERS TO TAKE AS WELL. APPROVED PROF DEVELOPMENT COURSES/CLASSES/CREDITS

IGNORE THIS STEP UNTIL I CAN CONFIRM WHAT IS OFFERED IN PDE FORMAT BY CCSD. REGISTRATION: https://cpd.vegas/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=339675&type=d&termREC_ID=&pREC_ID=632547 Most common; Offers in person and online classes for an average cost of $75.00 . GO TO THE NON CCSD REGISTRATION SECTION AND SELECT OPTION 1. FILL OUT TO APPLY FOR AN ELMS ACCOUNT. THEN REGISTER ONCE YOU GET THE CONFIRMED EMAIL. OR OPTION 2 REGISTER ON THE ELMS THEN GO THERE AND PAY IN PERSON . Once you have completed the course, you can request the transcript be sent to your OPAL account at DOE.

2) Teacher Toolbox http://www.teacherceutoolbox.com/

***IF YOU LET YOUR NV LICENSE EXPIRE AND THEN WANT TO REINSTATE IT, THEY HAVE ADDED A FAMILY ENGAGEMENT COURSE AT A COST OF $400-700 IN ADDITION TO YOUR LICENSE APPLICATION AND FINGERPRINTING FEES.

* Fingerprint Options:

Once your license application is completed online and paid for, they will email you a list of locations to get your fingerprints completed. The typical cost had been $10-20.

Find books and ebooks

Find Books & eBooks

For Overdrive ebooks and audiobooks, you can access them via the SORA app explained in the boxes below. Download it from the app store or Google play. You can also access it via the web at soraapp.com Our school setup code for the app is FAITHNV. Use your school ID number once on our school page.

If your ID is 4 digits, please add a zero in front of it i.e 0####

Find Articles, Images, & More

Use Sign in with Google whenever offered

Find Ebooks & Audiobooks

For Overdrive Sora ebooks and audiobooks, you can access them via the SORA app explained in link(click the picture above). Download it from the app store or Google play. You can also access it via the web at soraapp.com Our school setup code for the app is FAITHNV. Use your school ID number once on our school page. Faculty and Staff have access as well. Please see or email Mrs. Bowline or Mrs. Thompson if you need your ID number.

If your ID is 4 digits, please add a zero in front of it i.e 0####

Quick Links

Faith Lutheran Databases: A-Z List
Passwords for Online Databases
Research Tools
Search Destiny Discover for Books and Ebooks
Faith Lutheran Middle School and High School
Research Appointments
Request an Item

Submit a Book Review!

Variquest Die Cut Machine Info:

Die Cut Machine Information:

Please ask for help if you don't know how to use it.

We primarily cut cardstock which is available in the library

and in the copy room upper left cabinets. Regular paper

will tear and not work.

OTHER ITEMS AVAILABLE TO YOU:

*class set of laptop whiteboards with markers

*Stamps for card making/art projects

*Lego cart

*Paper Maker cart - construction paper, decorative/serrated edge scissors, glue

*Lincoln logs

More Resources:

Teachers Pay Teachers free downloads

Professional Development Resources

Professional Databases/TrainingTools

Fluency Matters free downloads: English, Spanish, French, teaching tools, conference workshop handouts and more

https://fluencymatters.com/product-category/free-downloads/

Copyright for Educators
Guide on copyright basics, fair use, open educational resources, and teaching copyright in the classroom

Teaching Tools

Tales2Go Teacher Resources
Resources to help teachers make audiobook listening a part of the classroom.
NationMaster
Comprehensive statistics site that allows students to compare countries side-by-side and calculate everything per capita. Also includes a Student FAQ and ready-made lesson plans for teachers.

Knoxville News Sentinel Historic Archive Pathfinder
Tips and tricks to search the Knoxville News Sentinel historic archive

Pizza Hut Book It! activities, printables, reading trackers
EDpuzzle
Take videos from a variety of sources (including your own creation) and customize them, such as shortening videos and adding questions/comments.
TN State Library & Archives Teacher Tools
Primary sources, lesson plans, webcasts, and more tools for teachers from the Tennessee State Library & Archives
Government Info for Teachers & Students
Guides to accessing government information for teachers and students, covering everything from state government guides to lesson plans and more
PrimarySource.org
PrimarySource.org collaborates with teachers, schools, and educational organizations to offer professional development courses and resources that help make global education an integral part of every student's classroom experience. Our engaging face-to-face and online programs, curriculum resources, and international study tours enhance global understanding and help thousands of teachers every year bring the wider world to their students.
Let's Recap
Free app that allows teachers to assign questions and prompts that students answer by recording videos of themselves. All videos are stored privately in the teachers account, but individual videos can be shared with parents or other teachers and students. Lots of possibilities for self-reflection exercises or presentation exercises.
World Book Online Educator Tools
World Book's Educator Tools page provides a range of resources, including correlations from World Book content to state and provincial curriculum correlations, links to external lesson plans and professional education links, and webquests to build foundational knowledge of specific topics.
TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Our online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. Includes author interviews and videos, lesson plans and curriculum tools, and more.
Photos for Class
- Age Appropriate Images - All images are appropriate for the school setting, thanks to Flicker SafeSearch and our proprietary filters - Read More
- Automatic Citation - Downloaded images automatically cite the author and the image license terms - Read More
- Creative Commons - All photos shown are, to the best of our (and Flickr's) knowledge, licensed by Creative Commons for public use

Professional Books

Professional books are located in the library loft & can be checked out.

There are samples listed below or you can see the whole list by clicking here:

List of Professional Books in FL Library

Conversational Intelligence by Judith E. Glaser
Call Number: PROF 650.101 GLA
ISBN: 9781937134679
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The key to success in life and business is to become a master at Conversational Intelligence. It's not about how smart you are, but how open you are to learn new and effective powerful conversational rituals that prime the brain for trust, partnership, and mutual success. Conversational Intelligence translates the wealth of new insights coming out of neuroscience from across the globe, and brings the science down to earth so people can understand and apply it in their everyday lives. Author Judith Glaser presents a framework for knowing what kind of conversations trigger the lower, more primitive brain; and what activates higher-level intelligences such as trust, integrity, empathy, and good judgment. Conversational Intelligence makes complex scientific material simple to understand and apply through a wealth of easy to use tools, examples, conversational rituals, and practices for all levels of an organization.
Deeper Learning with QR Codes and Augmented Reality by Monica Burns
Call Number: PROF 371.394 BUR
ISBN: 9781506331775
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Engaging, interactive learning--right in your students' hands!What if your students' mobile devices became an instructional asset rather than a distraction? Discover how free, scannable technology can enrich learning, while captivating students. Best of all, these technologies are easy to quickly implement within your classroom. Learn about QR codes and Augmented Reality (AR) Reach each student with new, hands-on learning opportunities Embrace the ACES Framework for teaching with scannable technologies: Access, Curate, Engage, and Share Promote self-directed learning and showcase students' creations Leverage technology to connect classroom activities with students' families and the broader community
Bored and Brilliant by Manoush Zomorodi
Call Number: PROF 153.3 ZOM
ISBN: 9781250124951
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
"Bored and Brilliant shows the fascinating side of boredom. Manoush Zomorodi investigates cutting-edge research as well as compelling (and often funny) real-life examples to demonstrate that boredom is actually a crucial tool for making our lives happier, more productive, and more creative. What's more, the book is crammed with practical exercises for anyone who wants to reclaim the power of spacing out - deleting the Two Dots app, for instance, or having a photo-free day, or taking a 'fakecation'." --Gretchen Rubin, author of #1 New York Times BestsellerThe Happiness Project "Bored and Brilliant is full of easy steps to make each day more effective and every life more intentional. Manoush's mix of personal stories, neuroscience, and data will convince you that boredom is actually a gift." --Charles Duhigg, author ofThe Power of Habitand Smarter, Faster, Better It's time to move "doing nothing" to the top of your to-do list. In 2015 Manoush Zomorodi, creator of WNYC's popular podcast and radio showNote to Self, led tens of thousands of listeners through an experiment to help them unplug from their devices, get bored, jump-start their creativity, and change their lives. Bored and Brilliant builds on that experiment to show us how to rethink our gadget use to live better and smarter in this new digital ecosystem. Manoush explains the connection between boredom and original thinking, exploring how we can harness boredom's hidden benefits to become our most productive and creative selves without totally abandoning our gadgets in the process. Grounding the book in the neuroscience and cognitive psychology of "mind wandering" what our brains do when we're doing nothing at all--Manoush includes practical steps you can take to ease the nonstop busyness and enhance your ability to dream, wonder, and gain clarity in your work and life. The outcome is mind-blowing. Unplug and read on.
Untangling the Web by Steve Dembo; Adam Bellow
Call Number: PROF 371.33 DEM
ISBN: 9781483333205
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
There are so many powerful web tools available today that can engage students, empower teachers, and make learning in the schools not only more relevant, but fun as well. While there are educational technologists who are quite passionate about discovering, trying, and sharing these resources, the fact remains that the majority of teachers are either unaware of these tools or intimidated on how to successfully embed them in their instruction. This book is an introduction to using these web-based tools in the classroom from a practical perspective as well as providing deeper dives demonstrating advanced ways they are being used to impact student learning.
Cultivating Communication in the Classroom by Lisa Ann Johnson
Call Number: PROF 302.23 JOH
ISBN: 9781506356372
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Just because many students are raised communicating through technology doesn′t mean they know how to use it effectively. Knowing how to share ideas is as crucial as the ideas themselves and unfortunately, many students don′t get explicit opportunities to hone this skill. This book provides real world insights into how students will be expected to communicate in their future careers and education strategies for teaching communication skills throughout the curriculum.
21st Century Literacy by Pam Allyn; Monica Burns
Call Number: PROF 372.4 ALL
ISBN: 9781425816964
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
This professional resource equips K-12 students with the skills they need to be critical readers in the 21st century. Today's reader is reading across multiple genres, on phones and tablets, with text in hand, and also online, and this helpful book provides educators with techniques on how to teach students to read on every platform and in every genre, to struggle with text, and to break through to new ideas when reading text. It focuses on the habits that students must form in order to gain the confidence to access all texts across all platforms. Each chapter is devoted to developing the five habits for successful reading: reading closely, widely, critically, deeply, and purposefully. Grounded in the latest research, the easy-to-implement strategies and instructional methods will help students cultivate strong reading skills in the 21st century classroom.
Tasks Before Apps by Monica Burns
Call Number: PROF 371.11 BUR
ISBN: 9781416624660
Publication Date: 2017-10-09
"Content-hosting websites, videoconferencing apps, grade- or subject-focused social media accounts: with such a dizzying array of mechanical and virtual help at our disposal, it can be a challenge for educators to know where to even start. Educator and technology consultant Monica Burns can relate, which is why she wrote this book: to share strategies, tools, and insights that teachers can use, regardless of subject or grade level, to effectively incorporate technology in the classroom. Focusing on the "three Cs" of technology implementation--creation, curiosity, and collaboration--Tasks Before Apps offers K-12 teachersDetailed advice for (and copious examples of) tech-infused lessons that help students meet learning goals while also developing vital digital citizenship skills.Customizable checklists and graphic organizers for planning tech-enabled activities; choosing appropriate programs, devices, and platforms; and setting unit and lesson goals.Recommendations for and links to apps and online resources that can facilitate and energize learning.Reflection and brainstorming questions for use in book clubs and PLC discussions.Knowing how to navigate technology wisely--how to communicate effectively on posts and message boards, locate credible information on search engines, and select efficient, cost-effective equipment--is essential for both teachers and students. Whether you are a novice or a veteran, teach kindergarten students or high school seniors, this book is an indispensable guide to furthering academic skills, social development, and digital aptitude in the classroom."
Illuminate: technology enhanced learning by Bethany Petty
Call Number: PROF 371.3 PET
ISBN: 9781945167454
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Illuminate Learning in Your Classroom Can you get along in your classroom without technology? Perhaps. After all, humanity learned to read, write, and create well before learning to harness electricity. But think about this: We didn't start using light bulbs because candles or lanterns stopped working. We use light bulbs and the electricity that powers them because doing so enhances our lives. In the same way, teachers can use technology to enhance the learning environment for students. In Illuminate, author, educator, and technology trainer Bethany Petty explains how to use technology to improve your students' learning experiences. You'll discover . . . Engaging ways to incorporate technology in any classroom Tips for using apps and QR codes to improve communication with parents Strategies to empower students (and you) to reflect on and share learning Practical ideas for increasing collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity Bethany shares specific how-tos for using a wide variety of apps and tools. She also explains the why behind using technology, and shows you how to use it to meet your students' needs and make learning memorable. After all, it's not about the technology; it's how you use it It's time to illuminate learning and use technology to enhance your students' experience. "If you're getting started with technology and want to know what's out there, this book is for you " --Matt Miller, author of Ditch That Textbook "Illuminate . . . provides a complete blueprint for how to bring edtech into the classroom and provide quality coaching to teachers of all grade levels " --Jeffrey Bradbury, TeacherCast.net "This thoughtful book will help teachers build their digital toolbox and find the best tool for the job." --Kasey Bell, author of Shake Up Learning
Creatively Productive: essential skills for tackling time wasters, clearing the clutter, and succeeding in school and life! by Lisa Johnson
Call Number: PROF 371.3 JOH
ISBN: 9781949595086
Publication Date: 2018-12-10
Creative productivity doesn’t just help your students ace “the test.” It equips them to ace life.
Technology gives us the freedom and ability to create and consume more today than at any other point in history. That means that, as teachers, administrators, students—heck, as humans—we stay busy.

Keeping track of time, data, and ideas, not to mention assignments, can sometimes seem impossible. And if you struggle with organization and efficiency, just imagine how much more your students may be struggling to keep up with life’s daily demands.

In Creatively Productive, Lisa Johnson shows you how to . . .
Devise individualized plans for personal and student organization
Manage time more effectively and get more done
Choose the best note-taking styles and strategies for you and your students
Set and track goals—and avoid procrastination
Teach students how to use reflection for personal and academic purposes
Boost reading retention—and so much more!
Equip your students with skills and resources they need to succeed in life.
#FormativeTech by Monica Burns
Call Number: PROF 371.26 BUR
ISBN: 9781506361901
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Formative assessment is a must for educators, but it can be difficult to juggle with all the demands on a busy teacher′s to-do list. In this book teachers will find practical ideas for assessing project-based and inquiry-based approaches, how to evaluate data and communicate results with families. This book will help make formative assessment meaningful, sustainable and scalable.