Home - Decades Project Resources - Mrs. Holmes & Miss Kosberg - LibGuides at Faith Lutheran Middle School and High School

WHAT TO CHOOSE FOR CITATIONS:

1) In Noodletools, if you haven't made your project yet, choose:

New Project > Title it > APA format > Advanced

2) In your SOURCES tab you choose the following based on the type of source you are using - remember to COPY your citation in APA format first

A) Magazine article from either column 1 or 2 of guide, or from a Gale database power search:

Select Database > Magazine > Copy & Paste a citation in top right > paste your citation in bottom box called Manually Edit Citation > click SAVE

B) Photo from Gale database:

Select Database > Photo or Illustration > Copy & Paste a citation in top right > paste your citation in bottom box called Manually Edit Citation > click SAVE

C) Video from Gale database:

Select Database > Video Clip Online > Copy & Paste a citation in top right > paste your citation in bottom box called Manually Edit Citation > click SAVE (you will use the same link and paste it into your slides for your video also)

D) Gale eBook from the right column of the guide:

Select File, app, e-book > E-book > click Continue > Copy & Paste a citation in top right > paste your citation in bottom box called Manually Edit Citation > click SAVE

Domestic Policy and Events in US

Database Articles - Foreign Policy and World Events

A Historic Discovery: Researchers find the remains of a famous shipwreck from World War II It was July 30, 1945. Four days earlier, the USS Indianapolis, a U.S. Navy ship, had finished a secret mission that would help bring an end to World War II. Just after midnight, the ship was hit by two torpedoes from an enemy Japanese submarine. The ship sank quickly, and only 316 of the 1,196 men on board would survive. The attack was one of the deadliest in U.S. Navy history.
From the American System to Mass Production, 1800-1932 If you want the inside story of how the growth companies of a century ago coped with the fantastic market expansion their innovations helped create, University of Delaware historian Hounshell has the scoop. While Cyrus McCormick was out selling his reapers, for example, brothers William and Leander were back in Chicago trying to figure out how in heaven's name to make them--with William worrying that the market for mechanical reapers would soon be saturated.
Righteous fists: the Boxer Rebellion casts a harsh and vivid light on America's long, complex relationship with China The ambivalence that the US has shown toward China in the 1990s is simply a continuation of the trend in US-China relations that was evident as early as the Boxer Rebellion of 1900. China was fined for the killings of over 30,000 Chinese Christians, but the US returned some of the money to China.

Culture in America

Science and Technology - America

Famous Americans

Orville and Wilbur Wright - aviation pioneers

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A472268543/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=da11b9b1

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A423372458/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=261aaf68

Helen Keller - pioneer for the blind

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A490717787/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=da813bdb

Billy Graham - Evangelist

Henry Ford - Automotive Inventor

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/DHFOSM987208216/UHIC?u=nv_fljsch&sid=UHIC&xid=862dde4f

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3490200247/UHIC?u=nv_fljsch&sid=UHIC&xid=ef53e90d

W.E.B. DuBois - NAACP founder

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2560000120/UHIC?u=nv_fljsch&sid=UHIC&xid=ef26f53f

Irving Berlin - songwriter

Bing Crosby - musician

Walt Disney - Cartoonist/film producer

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/K1631001828/UHIC?u=nv_fljsch&sid=UHIC&xid=3eee40a1

Martin Luther King Jr. - Civil Rights activist

Muhammad Ali - prizefighter

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/K1606003283/UHIC?u=nv_fljsch&sid=UHIC&xid=e12998c9

Louis Armstrong - musician

Jonas Salk - Polio vaccine microbiologist

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A643564162/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=f5185199

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A17196952/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=e22a1bfc

Albert Einstein - Theoretical Physicist

Elvis Presley - Entertainer

Charles Lindbergh - Aviator

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A14520451/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=de8b76a3

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A19383777/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=c32593b7

Ray Kroc - founder of McDonald's

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A57533108/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=8f5e01ed

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A206252545/GPS?u=nv_fljsch&sid=GPS&xid=474e3972

Eleanor Roosevelt - Politics/author

Gale ebooks

American Decades Primary Sources Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History Introduces the history of the United States from pre-Colonial America to the present day. Explores the timeline of America: its founders, key historical figures, wars, events, political environment, economy, and culture.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.